Cabinet Wins Confidence Vote
Civil Georgia, Tbilisi / 31 Jan.'08 / 14:33

The new cabinet, led by PM Lado Gurgenidze, won a confidence vote in Parliament with 141 votes to zero on January 31.

The opposition boycotted voting on and discussion of the new cabinet, as it refuses to recognize President Saakashvili and his government as legitimate.

List of Ministers

  • Vano Merabishvili – Interior Minister;
  • Davit Kezerashvili – Defense Minister;
  • Nika Gvaramia – Justice Minister; (Cabinet newcomer);
  • Davit Bakradze – Foreign Minister (former State Minister for Conflict Resolution Issues);
  • Eka Sharashidze – Economy Minister; (Cabinet newcomer);
  • Aleksandre Khetaguri – Energy Minister;
  • Nika Gilauri – Minister of Finance;
  • Sandro Kvitashvili –Minister for Healthcare and Social Issues; (Cabinet and political newcomer);
  • Ghia Nodia – Minister of Education and Science; (Cabinet and political newcomer);
  • Zaza Gamtsemlidze – Minister for Environmental Protection; (Cabinet and political newcomer);
  • Petre Tsiskarishvili - Minister of Agriculture
  • Nika Vacheishvili – Minister of Culture and Sport (former Deputy Minister of Culture and Sport);
  • Koba Subeliani – State Minister for Refugees and Accommodation; (formerly it was the Ministry for Refugees and Accommodation);
  • Temur Iakobashvili - State Minister for Reintegration Issues; (Cabinet and political newcomer) The position was previously called the State Minister for Conflict Resolution Issues;
  • Giorgi Baramidze - State Minister for Euro-Atlantic Integration Issues and Vice-Premier;

New Post in the Cabinet:

  • Davit Tkeshelashvili – State Minister for Regional Issues (former Healthcare Minister);
  • Iulon Gagoshidze – State Minister for Diaspora Issues; (Cabinet and political newcomer)

Posts that were abolished:

  • State Minister for Civil Integration Issues (held by Zinaida Bestaeva);
  • State Minister for Coordination of Economic Reforms (held by Kakha Bendukidze, who will now be the head of the government’s administration)

Civil.Ge © 2001-2019