Nine-Party Opposition Bloc
Civil Georgia, Tbilisi / 8 Apr.'08 / 15:06

The nine-party opposition coalition will nun in the May 21 parliamentary elections on the joint ticket under the name, “United Opposition–National Council–New Rights.”

The bloc unites following parties:

  1. New Rights Party – leader MP Davit Gamkrelidze;
  2. Conservative Party – leaders MP Kakha Kukava, MP Zviad Dzidziguri;
  3. Georgia’s Way – leader Salome Zourabichvili, ex-foreign minister;
  4. Freedom – Konstantine Gamsakhurdia, son of Georgia’s late President Zviad Gamsakhurdia;
  5. On Our Own – leader Paata Davitaia (party mainly focusing on the Abkhaz issues and targeting displaced persons);
  6. Party of People – leader Koba Davitashvili;
  7. Movement for United Georgia – party was formed by ex-defense minister, Irakli Okruashvili;
  8. Georgian Troupe – leader Jondi Bagaturia;
  9. National Forum – leader Kakha Shartava

The bloc also involves four individual members, including its leader MP Levan Gachechiladze, as well as Giorgi Khaindrava, ex-state minister; MP Gia Tortladze and MP Gia Tsagareishvili.


The opposition coalition - United Public Movement - was set up in October, 2007 shortly after the arrest of ex-defense minister, Irakli Okruashvili and initially united ten opposition parties. The New Rights Party was not part of the coalition. The Republican Party and Labor Party were in the coalition at that time.

The Labor Party, however, quit the coalition ahead of the January 5 presidential election and the coalition turned into a nine-party bloc, which was backing its leader MP Gachechiladze in the presidential election.

The Republicans quit the coalition in late February, citing that by running independently the Republicans would maximize the overall opposition vote by targeting mainly moderate and undecided voters.

During the March protests involving hunger strike the New Rights Party intensified cooperation by then eight-party coalition, which eventually turned into the party joining the bloc.

Civil.Ge © 2001-2021