Russian Lawmakers Vote for Abkhazia, S.Ossetia Independence
Civil Georgia, Tbilisi / 25 Aug.'08 / 15:30

Russia’s upper house of the Parliament, Council of Federation, unanimously passed a non-binding “appeal” to President Dmitry Medvedev asking him to recognize Georgia’s breakaway regions of Abkhazia and South Ossetia.

Sergey Mironov, chairman of the Council of Federation, described the decision as “historic.” Russia’s lower house of the Parliament, State Duma, is also expected to vote for a similar appeal.

“Georgia’s aggressive actions, which resulted into death of thousands of civilians in South Ossetia, as well as aggravation of the Georgian-Abkhaz conflict, has finally deprived the Georgian leadership of the right to have an ambition for people of South Ossetia and Abkhazia being depended on the adventurous policies,” the appeal reads.

It also says that the Council of Federation “fully supports” the policies of President Medvedev carried out in respect of Abkhazia and South Ossetia.

Abkhaz leader, Sergey Bagapsh, was at the session of the Council of Federation. “Neither Abkhazia... nor South Ossetia will be part of the Georgian sate,” he told the Russian senators before the vote.

In a separate statement passed also on August 25, the Russia’s lower house of the Parliament, State Duma, called on the international community to recognize the two region’s independence.

“South Ossetia will never forget and will never forgive crimes committed by the fascist ruling regime of Georgia,” Eduard Kokoity, the South Ossetian leader, said in his address to the Russian lawmakers.

Civil.Ge © 2001-2022