Three New MPs Join Parliament
Civil Georgia, Tbilisi / 20 May.'13 / 13:21

Parliament confirmed on May 17 credentials of three new lawmakers from the Georgian Dream coalition, who have won MP by-elections in three majoritarian single mandate constituencies last month.

Tamar Kordzaia won the race in Tbilisi’s Nadzaladevi district with 39.48% of votes and two others, Giorgi Kakhiani and Paata Kiknavelidze won landslide victories in Samtredia and Bagdati constituencies, respectively, with 80.94% and 61.81% of votes.

Now GD parliamentary majority group has 86 MPs in 150-seat Parliament.

UNM has 53 members and remaining 11 seats are occupied by those MPs, who have quit UNM following the October, 2012 elections; total of 12 lawmakers quit the UNM with one of them joining GD parliamentary majority.

Civil.Ge © 2001-2019