Seven New Ambassadorial Nominations Made
Civil Georgia, Tbilisi / 25 Nov.'13 / 18:42

The government has submitted to President Giorgi Margvelashvili for approval the nominees of new ambassadors to seven countries, including Bulgaria, China, Germany, Iran, Japan, Jordan and Uzbekistan.  

After the new constitution went into force on November 17, President has the right to appoint or dismiss ambassadors upon nomination by the government; approval from the parliament is no longer required. 

Lado Chanturia has been named as Georgian ambassador to Germany. Chanturia, a visiting professor at the University to Kiel, Institute for Eastern European Law, was Justice Minister in 1998-1999 and served as Chairman of Supreme Court in 1999-2004; he also was Georgian President’s adviser till 2007.

Ioseb Chakhvashvili has been named as Georgian ambassador to Iran and Pakistan. He had been Georgian ambassador to Turkmenistan and Afghanistan since 2009.

Davit Aptsiauri has been nominated as Georgia’s ambassador to China; he was Georgian ambassador to the Baltic states in 2004-2007.

Levan Tsintsadze is Georgia’s ambassadorial nominee to Japan; presently he serves as the director of the Foreign Ministry’s Department for International Economic Relations.    

Konstantine Zhgenti, who served as Georgian ambassador to Austria in 2004-2005, will become Georgian ambassador to Uzbekistan.

Zurab Beridze has been nominated as Georgian ambassador to Bulgaria; he served as Georgian ambassador to Romania and Moldova during four years before 2008.

Grigol Tabatadze has been named as Georgian ambassador to Jordan, Iraq and Lebanon. In 2009-2010 he was Georgian ambassador to Armenia.

Civil.Ge © 2001-2021