Parliament Endorses Credentials of Two New MPs
Civil Georgia, Tbilisi / 25 Nov.'15 / 17:53

The Parliament endorsed on November 25 credentials of two new lawmakers from the Georgian Dream ruling coalition.

Tamar Khidasheli and Soso Danelia were elected in Sagarejo and Martvili single mandate constituencies, respectively, in the October 31 by-elections.
Danelia won the race over his only competitor in the Martvili MP by-election Eter Medzvelia of the Alliance of Patriots with 72.54% of votes to 27.45%.
Tamar Khidasheli of the Republican Party garnered won MP by-election in Sagarejo single-mandate constituency by a margin of just 559 votes over her closest rival from the Alliance of Patriots of Georgia, Irma Inashvili. The latter claimed electoral violations and started hunger strike, which the Alliance of Georgia called off on November 24. Election monitoring groups said irregularities reported during October 31 MP by-elections did not affect final poll results.
Recently new GD lawmaker, Vladimer Achba, also joined the Parliament, replacing senior GD lawmaker Davit Saganelidze after the latter was appointed as the head of the state investment fund Partnership Fund.

Currently the Georgian Dream parliamentary majority group has 88 members in the 150-seat legislative body.

UNM parliamentary minority group has 46 seats and Free Democrats – 8 seats.

Newly launched party New Political Center-Girchi (pine cone), led by MP Zurab Japaridze, has four seats; those four lawmakers were previously with the UNM, but quit the party in May, 2015.

Four seats in the Parliament are occupied by independent lawmakers – three of them were previously with the GD ruling majority and one was with the UNM.

Civil.Ge © 2001-2022