CEC Summaries Final Vote Tally for October Parliamentary Elections
Civil Georgia, Tbilisi / 16 Nov.'16 / 16:31

The Central Election Commission (CEC) summarized on November 16 the final vote tally for the October 8 parliamentary elections that will enable the President to set the date of an inaugural session of the newly elected Parliament.

The President’s office told Civil.ge that President Margvelashvili, who plans to address the newly elected Parliament, has yet to make a decision on the date of an inaugural session.

According to final results of elections, out of 3,513,884 eligible voters, 1,825,054 cast ballot in the October elections.

With 48.68% of votes GDDG ruling party will have 44 seats under the proportional representation; UNM party, which garnered 27.11% of votes, will have 27 seats and an election bloc led by Alliance of Patriots, which garnered 5.01% of votes, will have 6 seats.

77 seats out of total 150 are allocated proportionally under the party-list contest among political parties and election blocs, which clear 5% threshold. 73 lawmakers are elected in 73 majoritarian, single-mandate constituencies.
On top of 44 seats, which the ruling party took in the Parliament under the proportional representation, its candidates have won in majoritarian MP races in 71 single-mandate constituencies – as a result, the ruling party will have a 115 seat supermajority in the new Parliament.

The remaining two majoritarian MP seats in the Parliament will be occupied by independent candidate in Tbilisi’s Mtatsminda district backed by the ruling party and a candidate nominated by Industrialists party, who won in Khashuri single-mandate constituency.

The final vote tally involves the list of 150 elected lawmakers, among them PM Giorgi Kvirikashvili, number one on GDDG’s party list, who will be re-nominated by the ruling party as the head of government, and Sandra Roelofs, ex-first lady and number two on the UNM’s party list of candidates, who renounced her MP mandate.   

According to the existing legislation, the Parliament has first to endorse MP credentials of an elected lawmaker and then suspend a mandate through voting.

Civil.Ge © 2001-2021