President Appoints Two New Members of CEC
Civil Georgia, Tbilisi / 2 Feb.'04 / 12:50

President Saakashvili appointed two new members - Davit Gurgenidze and Giorgi Khomeriki as the members of the Central Election Commission (CEC).
Five members of CEC, who were appointed by Interim President Nino Burjanadze, filed resignation on January 28, following the inauguration of Mikheil Saakashvili as a new President.
Under the President’s decision, three of them – Zaza Gorozia, Karlo Kvitaishvili and Zurab Nonikashvili – will still hold their posts in the Central Election Commission.

The OSCE and Council of Europe recommended the Georgian leadership to carry out reforms in the election commission in order to secure political balance in the election administrations. However, the issue is not yet being discussed by the authorities.

Civil.Ge © 2001-2019