4 Parliamentary Factions Set Up
Civil Georgia, Tbilisi / 22 Apr.'04 / 19:16

Four factions have been created in Georgia’s new Parliament on April 22. The ruling National Movement-Democrats party will have the largest faction with 138 deputies.

Maia Nadiradze will chair the Parliament’s largest faction.

Moderate opposition coalition of New Rights and Industrialists parties formed 17-member faction, which will be the only opposition faction in the Georgian Parliament. Leader of the New Rights Davit Gamkrelidze will chair the faction.

20 MPs elected in the single-mandate constituencies, (‘Majoritarian’ MPs) who are the members of the ruling party set up a separate faction – Majoritarians, led by Beso Jugheli.

20 non-partisan MPs also elected in the single-mandate constituencies are united in the faction Independent Majoritarians, led by Vano Chkhartishvili, an influential businessman, who was an Economy Minister in ex-President Shevardnadze’s government.

At its inaugural session on April 22 the Parliament also will elect the Parliamentary Chairman. It is widely expected that Nino Burjanadze of ruling party will be re-elected for this position.

Civil.Ge © 2001-2022