About Civil.ge
Eng | Geo | Rus
Last updated: 10:55 - 1 May.'18
Top 20 in Ruling Party List Reported
Civil Georgia, Tbilisi / 22 Apr.'08 / 16:26

Tbilisi-based Mze TV reported on April 22 the first twenty members in the ruling party’s list of MP candidates:

  1. Davit Bakradze – the foreign minister;
  2. Koba Subeliani - the state minister for refugees and accommodation;
  3. Gia Roinishvili – an actor;
  4. Zaza Gamtsemlidze, the minister of environment;
  5. Nugzar Tsiklauri, a publisher;
  6. Khatuna Ochiauri, a member of the Tbilisi City Council (Sakrebulo);
  7. Davit Darchiashvili, executive director of the Open Society Georgia Foundation (OSGF);
  8. Mikheil Machavariani, the vice-speaker of Parliament;
  9. Zurab Melikishvili – the general secretary of the ruling party;
  10. MP Gigi Tsereteli;
  11. Giorgi Gabashvili – head of the president’s administration and ex-minister of culture;
  12. MP Givi Targamadze – chairman of the parliamentary committee for defense and security;
  13. Irakli Kenchoshvili;
  14. MP Vano Khukhunaishvili;
  15. Eka Kherkheulidze – member of Adjara Autonomous Republic’s legislative body;
  16. MP Paata Lezhava – chairman of the parliamentary committee for legal issues;
  17. MP Irakli Kavtaradze;
  18. MP Eldar Kvernadze;
  19. Petre Mamradze – former head of the government’s administration;
  20. MP Khatuna Gogorishvili.

The ruling party has not yet officially presented the list of MP candidates.

Meanwhile, the nine-party opposition bloc and the Republican Party have claimed that the ruling party failed to submit its list of MP candidates to the Central Election Commission (CEC) in accordance with procedures before the deadline expired on April 21 and should therefore be barred from running. The opposition has also accused Levan Tarkhnishvili, the CEC chair, of covering up the ruling party’s failure to submit the list in accordance with procedures. Both the ruling party and the CEC chair have denied the allegation.

After Parliamentary Chairperson Nino Burjanadze’s statement on April 21 the ruling party had to replace some of its majoritarian MP candidates as well. At least five majoritarian MP candidates from Kutaisi, Borjomi, Shuakhevi, Khulo and Keda, who are Burjanadze’s allies, have been replaced.

Latest News
01 May.'18 10:55
We Have Moved to a New Platform
Direct Your Bookmarks to https://civil.ge.
29 Apr.'18 03:54
Ruling Party Candidate Wins MP By-Elections
Givi Chichinadze will represent Vani and Khoni single-mandate constituency in the Parliament of Georgia.
28 Apr.'18 09:40
Polls Open for Vani and Khoni MP By-Elections
48,123 voters are eligible to cast their ballots in Vani and Khoni single-mandate constituency.
27 Apr.'18 17:23
State Dept’s Europe Affairs Point Man to Visit Tbilisi
Wess Mitchell will meet senior government officials and address the NATO-Georgia Public Diplomacy Forum.
27 Apr.'18 13:45
In Quotes: Georgian Politicians on Ex-PM Bidzina Ivanishvili’s Comeback
Bidzina Ivanishvili will be approved as the Georgian Dream party chairman at the upcoming convention.
26 Apr.'18 18:15
SG Jens Stoltenberg: Georgia NATO’s ‘Very Close’ Partner
The NATO Secretary General says Foreign Ministers meeting tomorrow will recognize the country’s progress.
26 Apr.'18 14:24
Ex-PM Ivanishvili to Chair Georgian Dream Party
Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili said Ivanishvili was ‘best equipped’ to add new dynamism to the party.
26 Apr.'18 11:12
Lawmaker Proposes Criminal Liability for ‘Insult of Religious Feelings’
The parliamentary human rights committee decided to set up a working group for scrutinizing the draft law.
25 Apr.'18 17:21
New Abkhaz Government Head Appointed
Gennady Gagulia has served as the Abkhaz “prime minister” twice - in 1995-1997, and 2002-2003.
25 Apr.'18 14:43
Watchdog Improves Georgia’s Press Freedom Ranking
None of the countries of the former Soviet Union (except the Baltics) are ranked ahead of Georgia.

About Civil Georgia
Civil.Ge © 2001-2022, Daily News Online
Registered office: 2 Dolidze Str, 4-th Floor.