About Civil.ge
Eng | Geo | Rus
Last updated: 10:55 - 1 May.'18
New Parliamentary Faction Set Up
Civil Georgia, Tbilisi / 27 Jun.'08 / 18:57

Twelve lawmakers, including those from the Christian-Democratic Party, as well as some elected on the opposition parties’ joint ticket, announced the establishment of a parliamentary faction on June 27.

The faction unites six lawmakers from the Christian-Democratic Party; as well as MP Paata Davitaia; MP Dimitri Lortkipanidze; MP Gia Tortladze and MP Gia Tsagareishvili – all four elected on the opposition coalition’s joint ticket.

Two other members of the new faction are MP Roman Marsagishvili and MP Karlo Kopaliani - both majoritarian MPs, who were nominated to run in the Kazbegi and Tsageri single-mandate constituencies by the Republican Party – neither of them, however, are formally members of the Republican Party.

MP Gia Tortladze will be the chairman of the faction.

MP Giorgi Targamadze, the leader of the Christian-Democratic Party, will apparently become the chairman of the parliamentary minority, which will be formed based on the new faction.

Both the formal faction and parliamentary minority give certain political privileges to its members - including the right to vote in the parliament’s bureau (the body which determines the parliamentary sessions’ schedule), guaranteed seats in committees, investigation commissions and parliamentary delegations.

Currently, a minimum of seven lawmakers are needed to set up a faction. The ruling party, however, has pledged to endorse constitutional amendments to decrease the threshold to six. If done, the Christian-Democratic Party, which has six lawmakers in Parliament, could form a separate faction.

The new faction will the third in the parliament, with two others formed by ruling party MPs.

Latest News
01 May.'18 10:55
We Have Moved to a New Platform
Direct Your Bookmarks to https://civil.ge.
29 Apr.'18 03:54
Ruling Party Candidate Wins MP By-Elections
Givi Chichinadze will represent Vani and Khoni single-mandate constituency in the Parliament of Georgia.
28 Apr.'18 09:40
Polls Open for Vani and Khoni MP By-Elections
48,123 voters are eligible to cast their ballots in Vani and Khoni single-mandate constituency.
27 Apr.'18 17:23
State Dept’s Europe Affairs Point Man to Visit Tbilisi
Wess Mitchell will meet senior government officials and address the NATO-Georgia Public Diplomacy Forum.
27 Apr.'18 13:45
In Quotes: Georgian Politicians on Ex-PM Bidzina Ivanishvili’s Comeback
Bidzina Ivanishvili will be approved as the Georgian Dream party chairman at the upcoming convention.
26 Apr.'18 18:15
SG Jens Stoltenberg: Georgia NATO’s ‘Very Close’ Partner
The NATO Secretary General says Foreign Ministers meeting tomorrow will recognize the country’s progress.
26 Apr.'18 14:24
Ex-PM Ivanishvili to Chair Georgian Dream Party
Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili said Ivanishvili was ‘best equipped’ to add new dynamism to the party.
26 Apr.'18 11:12
Lawmaker Proposes Criminal Liability for ‘Insult of Religious Feelings’
The parliamentary human rights committee decided to set up a working group for scrutinizing the draft law.
25 Apr.'18 17:21
New Abkhaz Government Head Appointed
Gennady Gagulia has served as the Abkhaz “prime minister” twice - in 1995-1997, and 2002-2003.
25 Apr.'18 14:43
Watchdog Improves Georgia’s Press Freedom Ranking
None of the countries of the former Soviet Union (except the Baltics) are ranked ahead of Georgia.

About Civil Georgia
Civil.Ge © 2001-2022, Daily News Online
Registered office: 2 Dolidze Str, 4-th Floor.