About Civil.ge
Eng | Geo | Rus
Last updated: 10:55 - 1 May.'18
Candidates Named for MP By-Election
Civil Georgia, Tbilisi / 1 May.'10 / 16:58

Simultaneously with May 30 local elections, in three single-mandate constituencies voters will also elect lawmakers to fill three vacant seats in the Parliament.

MP by-elections will be held in Tbilisi’s Chugureti single-mandate, majoritarian constituency, as well as in two provincial constituencies of Ozurgeti western Georgia and Gurjaani in eastern region of Kakheti.

Deadline for submitting candidates expired on April 30. These by-elections for three parliamentary seats will not influence to the current power balance in the parliament, dominated by the ruling party.

Five candidates will be contesting a majoritarian seat in the Tbilisi’s Chugureti constituency – Andro Alavidze, nominated by the ruling National Movement party; Kakha Basilaia of Christian-Democratic Movement; Levan Roinishvili of Movement for Fair Georgia, led by ex-PM Zurab Nogaideli and Lana Galdava, nominated by MP Gia Tortladze’s Democratic Party of Georgia and Giorgi Gachechiladze, nominated by newly established party, which is led by Tbilisi mayoral candidate Nika Ivanishvili.

MP Tortladze’s party has also nominated its candidates in two other constituencies – Maia Orjonikidze in Ozurgeti and Levan Cholokashvili in Gurjaani; both of the candidates are fierce critics of the non-parliamentary opposition and both of them have featured for number of times in TV political talk shows and programs, defending the authorities’ various policies.

Other candidates nominated in Gurjaani are: Giorgi Chiviashvili of the ruling National Movement party; Zaza Natsvlishvili of Movement for Fair Georgia and Levan Koberidze of Party of Future.

Two other candidates are also running in Ozurgeti district, apart of the one nominated by MP Tortladze’s party: Gocha Shanidze of the ruling party and Ilia Kalandadze of Movement for Fair Georgia.

Three majoritarian seats in the Parliament became vacant after ex-MP from Chugureti constituency Lasha Zhvania was appointed as Economy Minister in December, 2008 (he was dismissed from the post in August, 2009); former lawmaker from the Gurjaani single-mandate constituency, Giorgi Gviniashvili, was appointed as governor of Kakheti region and Anzor Erkomaishvili, a former lawmaker from the Ozurgeti single-mandate constituency, quit the Parliament.

Latest News
01 May.'18 10:55
We Have Moved to a New Platform
Direct Your Bookmarks to https://civil.ge.
29 Apr.'18 03:54
Ruling Party Candidate Wins MP By-Elections
Givi Chichinadze will represent Vani and Khoni single-mandate constituency in the Parliament of Georgia.
28 Apr.'18 09:40
Polls Open for Vani and Khoni MP By-Elections
48,123 voters are eligible to cast their ballots in Vani and Khoni single-mandate constituency.
27 Apr.'18 17:23
State Dept’s Europe Affairs Point Man to Visit Tbilisi
Wess Mitchell will meet senior government officials and address the NATO-Georgia Public Diplomacy Forum.
27 Apr.'18 13:45
In Quotes: Georgian Politicians on Ex-PM Bidzina Ivanishvili’s Comeback
Bidzina Ivanishvili will be approved as the Georgian Dream party chairman at the upcoming convention.
26 Apr.'18 18:15
SG Jens Stoltenberg: Georgia NATO’s ‘Very Close’ Partner
The NATO Secretary General says Foreign Ministers meeting tomorrow will recognize the country’s progress.
26 Apr.'18 14:24
Ex-PM Ivanishvili to Chair Georgian Dream Party
Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili said Ivanishvili was ‘best equipped’ to add new dynamism to the party.
26 Apr.'18 11:12
Lawmaker Proposes Criminal Liability for ‘Insult of Religious Feelings’
The parliamentary human rights committee decided to set up a working group for scrutinizing the draft law.
25 Apr.'18 17:21
New Abkhaz Government Head Appointed
Gennady Gagulia has served as the Abkhaz “prime minister” twice - in 1995-1997, and 2002-2003.
25 Apr.'18 14:43
Watchdog Improves Georgia’s Press Freedom Ranking
None of the countries of the former Soviet Union (except the Baltics) are ranked ahead of Georgia.

About Civil Georgia
Civil.Ge © 2001-2022, Daily News Online
Registered office: 2 Dolidze Str, 4-th Floor.