About Civil.ge
Eng | Geo | Rus
Last updated: 10:55 - 1 May.'18
Election Administration
Civil Georgia, Tbilisi / 14 May.'08 / 17:51

Central Election Commission (CEC) is the main body administering elections.

CEC is composed of 13 members, wherein six are appointed by six opposition parties and one by the ruling National Movement party. Remaining six members, including the Chairman, are formally non-partisan, certified election official; in fact, however, they are all affiliated with the ruling party. As a result the authorities hold majority seats in the CEC – seven against six opposition members.

CEC Members:
1. Levan Tarkhnishvili – chairman;
2. Davit Kirtadze – deputy chairman;
3. Gizo Mchedlidze – secretary;
4. Giorgi Areshidze – certified election official;
5. Lukhum Burjaliani - certified election official;
6. Emzar Pazhava - certified election official;
7. Davit Gurgenidze – ruling National Movement party;
8. Zurab Marakvelidze – opposition Republican Party;
9. Giorgi Javakhishvili – opposition Industrialists party;
10. Nodar Museridze – opposition New Rights party;
11. Giorgi Mtvarelidze – opposition Labor Party;
12. Davit Bardavelidze – opposition Freedom party;
13. Nino Goguadze – opposition Conservative party.

District Election Commissions (DEC) – are middle-level election administrations set up in 75 election districts.  

DECs were composed solely by certified election officials and formally political parties have no members there, but in fact the ruling party controlled DECs. As a result of the amendments to the election code in March, the rule of composition of the DECs has changed and six opposition parties were able to nominate their representatives in the DEC.

The DECs have increased powers, as a result of the recent amendments, the mid-level commissions now have the right to tabulate votes cast in the precincts and the right to cancel election results at given polling stations. 

Precinct Election Commissions (PEC) – are the lowers level of election administrations, but of crucial importance as they administer polling station and are first bodies to count votes.

The CEC has established 3,556 regular PECs and 73 special polling stations - at military barracks/units, detention centres, hospitals etc. Two polling stations were established for Georgian military personnel in Iraq.

47 polling stations have been opened in Georgia’s embassies and consulates abroad.

Latest News
01 May.'18 10:55
We Have Moved to a New Platform
Direct Your Bookmarks to https://civil.ge.
29 Apr.'18 03:54
Ruling Party Candidate Wins MP By-Elections
Givi Chichinadze will represent Vani and Khoni single-mandate constituency in the Parliament of Georgia.
28 Apr.'18 09:40
Polls Open for Vani and Khoni MP By-Elections
48,123 voters are eligible to cast their ballots in Vani and Khoni single-mandate constituency.
27 Apr.'18 17:23
State Dept’s Europe Affairs Point Man to Visit Tbilisi
Wess Mitchell will meet senior government officials and address the NATO-Georgia Public Diplomacy Forum.
27 Apr.'18 13:45
In Quotes: Georgian Politicians on Ex-PM Bidzina Ivanishvili’s Comeback
Bidzina Ivanishvili will be approved as the Georgian Dream party chairman at the upcoming convention.
26 Apr.'18 18:15
SG Jens Stoltenberg: Georgia NATO’s ‘Very Close’ Partner
The NATO Secretary General says Foreign Ministers meeting tomorrow will recognize the country’s progress.
26 Apr.'18 14:24
Ex-PM Ivanishvili to Chair Georgian Dream Party
Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili said Ivanishvili was ‘best equipped’ to add new dynamism to the party.
26 Apr.'18 11:12
Lawmaker Proposes Criminal Liability for ‘Insult of Religious Feelings’
The parliamentary human rights committee decided to set up a working group for scrutinizing the draft law.
25 Apr.'18 17:21
New Abkhaz Government Head Appointed
Gennady Gagulia has served as the Abkhaz “prime minister” twice - in 1995-1997, and 2002-2003.
25 Apr.'18 14:43
Watchdog Improves Georgia’s Press Freedom Ranking
None of the countries of the former Soviet Union (except the Baltics) are ranked ahead of Georgia.

About Civil Georgia
Civil.Ge © 2001-2023, Daily News Online
Registered office: 2 Dolidze Str, 4-th Floor.