About Civil.ge
Eng | Geo | Rus
Last updated: 10:55 - 1 May.'18
Mayoral Candidates
Civil Georgia, Tbilisi / 28 May.'14 / 19:31

Total of 84 candidates are running for mayoral offices in twelve cities in the June 15 local elections.

87 candidates were initially registered, but three of them withdrew from the races (representatives from non-parliamentary opposition parties) in Zugdidi, Poti and Akhaltsikhe.

Tbilisi is the most contested city where 14 candidates are running for mayor, followed by Batumi (11 candidates) and Rustavi (9 candidates); only two candidates are running for mayoral office of Ambrolauri, small town in Racha-Lechkhumi mountainous region. 10 out of total 87 mayoral candidates are women.

Only the Georgian Dream (GD) ruling coalition and opposition United National Movement (UNM) party have candidates in all twelve cities. Nino Burjanadze-led coalition of several non-parliamentary opposition parties, United Opposition, has candidates in all but one town – Ambrolauri.

The race will go into a runoff if no candidate wins more than 50% of votes in the first round on June 15.

Mayors in eleven cities will be elected directly for the first time in the upcoming elections; direct election of mayor in Tbilisi was introduced in 2010.

Below is the list of mayoral candidates in other eleven cities (candidates are listed in same order as they will appear on ballot papers):

  • Magda Gabrichidze – an election bloc, Non-Parliamentary Opposition, made up of New Rights and Free Georgia parties;
  • Temur Shashiashvili – nominated by Nino Burjanadze-led United Opposition;
  • Giorgi Tevdoradze – the United National Movement (UNM);
  • Alexander Kezevadze – Alliance of Patriots of Georgian;
  • Khatuna Machavariani – Self-Governance for the People, an election bloc established by For Fair Georgia and European Democrats parties;
  • Irakli Kikvadze – Labor Party, led by Shalva Natelashvili;
  • Shota Murgulia – ruling coalition Georgian Dream (GD);


  • Alexander Tevzadze – Non-Parliamentary Opposition bloc (New Rights; Free Georgia);
  • Murman Beridze – Nino Burjanadze-United Opposition;
  • Giorgi Diasamidze – UNM;
  • Nugzar Chkhaidze – Labor Party;
  • Teimuraz Mikeladze – Alliance of Patriots of Georgia;
  • Gocha Gugunava – Georgia’s Way (party founded by ex-foreign minister Salome Zourabichvili);
  • Davit Diasamidze – Reformers;
  • Jumber Tavartkiladze –Party of People;
  • Merab Khimshiashvili – Assembly of Unity;
  • Durmishkhan Shainidze – bloc Self-Governance for the People;
  • Giorgi Ermakov – GD;


  • Alexander Beridze - Non-Parliamentary Opposition;
  • Koba Dzlierishvili – Nino Burjanadze-United Opposition;
  • Mamuka Chikovani – UNM;
  • Elguja Kochiashvili – In the Name of the Lord-the Lord is Our Truth;
  • Ivane Shatirishvili – Alliance of Patriots of Georgia;
  • Erosi Kitsmarishvili – formerly a co-owner of Rustavi 2 TV and ex-ambassador to Russia, he was actively involved in politics in 2010-2011, but kept low profile before re-emerging as a mayoral candidate; in late 2011 he became embroiled in a bitter dispute with Maestro TV, which at the time was under his management; he was nominated by Our Georgia party;
  • Alexander Kobaidze –Georgia’s Way;
  • Revaz Rizhamadze – Labor Party;
  • Davit Jikia – GD;


  • Giorgi Mosiashvili - Non-Parliamentary Opposition;
  • Tamaz Arjevanidze -  Nino Burjanadze-United Opposition;
  • Aleksi Dzuliashvili – UNM;
  • Nodar Mumlauri – the Green Party of Georgia;
  • Zaza Devidze – Alliance of Patriots of Georgia;
  • Ketevan Zakariashvili – Labor Party;
  • Platon Kalmakhelidze – GD;


  • Vasil Butkhuzi – Non-Parliamentary Opposition;
  • Mamuka Nozadze - Nino Burjanadze-United Opposition;
  • Archil Sabiashvili – UNM;
  • Kakhaber Ergemlidze – Georgian Party, led by ex-defense minister Irakli Okruashvili;
  • Tamaz Makashvili – Assembly of Unity;
  • Giuli Mukniashvili – Council of Georgian Workers
  • Zurab Jirkvelishvili – GD;


  • Ivane Beridze - Political Movement of [law enforcement and armed forces] Veterans and Patriots of Georgia;
  • Ilia Rukhadze – Nino Burjanadze-United Opposition;
  • Guram Kintsurashvili – UNM;
  • Davit Machkhaneli – the Green Party of Georgia;
  • Davit Alibegashvili - Alliance of Patriots of Georgia;
  • Ramaz Gvaladze –People’s Party;
  • Avtandil  Nemsitsveridze -  GD;


  • Irakli Gurtskaia - Non-Parliamentary Opposition;
  • Rusudan Pachkoria – Nino Burjanadze-United Opposition;
  • Teimuraz Basilaia – UNM;
  • Irakli Gogokhia – GD;


  • Davit Kantaria – Nino Burjanadze-United Opposition;
  • Vakhtang Dartsmelidze – UNM;
  • Ushangi Gegenava - Alliance of Patriots of Georgia;
  • Irakli Kakulia – GD;


  • Irma Kvachantiradze – Non-Parliamentary Opposition;
  • Kakha Chavleshvili – Nino Burjanadze-United Opposition;
  • Levan Goguadze – UNM;
  • Shota Gogiberidze – Alliance of Patriots of Georgia;
  • Lasha Moistsrapishvili –Self-Governance for the People;
  • Ivane Tabatadze –Georgia’s Way;
  • Mirza Chkhikvishvili – Labor Party;
  • Beglar Sioridze – GD;


  • Zaza Natenadze – Nino Burjanadze-United Opposition;
  • Gela Demetradze – UNM;
  • Gocha Atoshvili – Georgia’s Way;
  • Giorgi Kopadze – GD; 


  • Amiran Lomtadze – UNM;
  • Rati Namgaladze – GD;

June 5 is deadline for a mayoral candidate to withdraw from the race; if a candidate decides to declare about pulling out from the race after this deadline, his or her name will still appear on ballot papers on the election day.

Latest News
01 May.'18 10:55
We Have Moved to a New Platform
Direct Your Bookmarks to https://civil.ge.
29 Apr.'18 03:54
Ruling Party Candidate Wins MP By-Elections
Givi Chichinadze will represent Vani and Khoni single-mandate constituency in the Parliament of Georgia.
28 Apr.'18 09:40
Polls Open for Vani and Khoni MP By-Elections
48,123 voters are eligible to cast their ballots in Vani and Khoni single-mandate constituency.
27 Apr.'18 17:23
State Dept’s Europe Affairs Point Man to Visit Tbilisi
Wess Mitchell will meet senior government officials and address the NATO-Georgia Public Diplomacy Forum.
27 Apr.'18 13:45
In Quotes: Georgian Politicians on Ex-PM Bidzina Ivanishvili’s Comeback
Bidzina Ivanishvili will be approved as the Georgian Dream party chairman at the upcoming convention.
26 Apr.'18 18:15
SG Jens Stoltenberg: Georgia NATO’s ‘Very Close’ Partner
The NATO Secretary General says Foreign Ministers meeting tomorrow will recognize the country’s progress.
26 Apr.'18 14:24
Ex-PM Ivanishvili to Chair Georgian Dream Party
Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili said Ivanishvili was ‘best equipped’ to add new dynamism to the party.
26 Apr.'18 11:12
Lawmaker Proposes Criminal Liability for ‘Insult of Religious Feelings’
The parliamentary human rights committee decided to set up a working group for scrutinizing the draft law.
25 Apr.'18 17:21
New Abkhaz Government Head Appointed
Gennady Gagulia has served as the Abkhaz “prime minister” twice - in 1995-1997, and 2002-2003.
25 Apr.'18 14:43
Watchdog Improves Georgia’s Press Freedom Ranking
None of the countries of the former Soviet Union (except the Baltics) are ranked ahead of Georgia.

About Civil Georgia
Civil.Ge © 2001-2021, Daily News Online
Registered office: 2 Dolidze Str, 4-th Floor.